Singapore, November 18th

Dear Tom,

 

I arrived safe and sound in Singapore at 5pm local time, after 12 hours flight✈. I am so glad, as I was a bit scared, actually no I am always scared when I fly especially now with all these bloody terrorists and after the Russian airplane crash. I hate when people tell me I should not! I am scared of the plane and always be!! It’s just not natural to be suspended up in the air. But that does not stop me to travel. I just claim my right to be scared.

It’s so hot in Singapore, Tom, you have no idea. Actually it’s probably as hot as hell because the great degree of humidity, how people can deal with it? And in the metro (Ⓜ which is called MRT here) there are 18 degrees, so thank God I always had with me an extra shirt and a scarf(another smart present from my colleagues) that saved me from getting sick. I didn’t tell you but I left Paris with a tracheitis, I completely lost my voice one week before leaving, because of AC, so I would rather not going on antibiotics again.

I have to tell you where I spent my first night in Singapore: in the fancy Marina Sands Bay Hotel 💶💷💸One of my acquaintance, a Singapore resident from Taiwan, kindly offered me the bedroom for my first night. It was already paid but no one occupied it. So, one hour after my arrival, it wqs nearly 7pm, I left my stuff at Laurent’s, my first French couchsurfer, and I jumped into the Singaporean metro. It’s kinda beautiful! So clean and safe! Sorry Paris, but Singapore wins!
Live it, learn it: I learnt that distances in Singapore are not like in Paris, where one station is around 5 to 10 minutes maximum walking to the next one. In Singapore not all the roads are designed for pedestrians and there are no trains each 2-3 minutes like in Paris. I learnt quickly not to jump on a train without being pretty sure where it goes.

Here you are the web site of the Marina Sands Bay, so you can see the Infinity pool.

https://www.marinabaysands.com

The suite I slept in costs 1000€ per night💸Many thanx to Mr Liao! I had a nice breakfast, then a couple of hours in the pool and went back to “normal life” after checking out at 12pm.

I am staying in Singapore 4 days, it’s enough to visit the city.

The places I liked the most are probably the classic ones, the Marina and its bars, the Gardens by the Bay, the Botanical Gardens, Orchard Road, Raffle Square.

To have a bit of action, Little India has to be seen on Sundays and not on working days as I did.

I met nice people during my stay: my kind host Laurent, another couchsurfer from Iran, Mona, and two Spanish girls that arrived on the same day I left. Also, I had a alcool free cocktail in a terrace bar on the Marina with Fabien, he is the French boyfriend of the daughter of one of my mum’s good friend in Paris.

What I liked the most in Singapore:
-feeling safe anywhere I went
-the green spaces and the cleanliness

Laisser un commentaire